Download Kaleidoscope CD Full-Color Digital Booklet (PDF)

Premiere recordings of masterworks for guitar duo arranged by Gregg Nestor




Clear Note (CD)


The guitar duo tradition stretches back to the early nineteenth century when Fernando Sor wrote duets to perform with Dionisio Aguado. Other composer/performers of this period such as Mauro Giuliani and Fernando Carulli also published fine works for two guitars. In the twentieth century various distinguished duos established an international reputation, the most eminent being the Presti-Lagoya partnership who set new standards in both technique and interpretation.

The duo is a versatile medium capable of encompassing a more complex repertoire than a single guitar. In particular the duo lends itself to imaginative arrangements from a wide variety of sources, including the pianoforte and even orchestral scores. If, as Segovia maintained, the solo instrument is ‘a miniature orchestra in itself’, it could be argued that two guitars double the instrument’s tonal and interpretative resources. The music on this recording demonstrates the duo’s capacity to present a wide range of transcriptions with authority, sensitive musicianship, and virtuosity.


1. March – Kaleidoscope,Op.19c – Miklós Rózsa  
2. Zingara – Kaleidoscope,Op.19c – Miklós Rózsa
3. Musette – Kaleidoscope,Op.19c – Miklós Rózsa
4. Berceuse – Kaleidoscope,Op.19c – Miklós Rózsa
5. Chinese Carillon – Kaleidoscope,Op.19c – Miklós Rózsa  
6. Burlesque – Kaleidoscope,Op.19c – Miklós Rózsa
7. Allegro moderato – Sonata (1922) – Francis Poulenc
8. Andante – Sonata (1922) – Francis Poulenc
9. Rondeau – Sonata (1922) – Francis Poulenc
10. Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum – Claude Debussy
11. Berceuse des éléphants – Claude Debussy
12. Sérénade á la poupée – Claude Debussy
13. La neige danse – Claude Debussy
14. Le petit berger – Claude Debussy
15. Golliwog’s Cake Walk – Claude Debussy  
16. Dawn – Celestial Suite,mvmt.2 – Toni Beaulieu
17. Nocturne (Clouds)- Celestial Suite, mvmt.4 – Toni Beaulieu
18. Adagio Cantabile – Introspections (1991) – Michael Deák  
19. Chorale (Cantabile) – Introspections (1991) – Michael Deák
20. Allegro assai – Introspections (1991) – Michael Deák
21. Exaltación – Danzas Fantásticas, Op. 22 (1920) – Joaquin Turina
22. Ensueño – Danzas Fantásticas, Op. 22 (1920) – Joaquin Turina
23. Orgía- Danzas Fantásticas, Op. 22 (1920) – Joaquin Turina  


Gregg Nestor and Raymond Burley, Guitars
Album Produced by Gregg Nestor
Guitar Duo Arrangements by Gregg Nestor
Recorded at Penguin Recording, Eagle Rock, CA April 5-17, 1994
Engineer: John Strother
Digitally Mastered by Jonathan Marcus, Orpharion Recordings
CD Art Direction: Mark Banning
Mr. Nestor’s Guitar by Martin Fleeson, 1981
Mr. Burley’s Guitar by Martin Fleeson, 1985
Cover Artwork by www.sandnames.com
Album Notes by Graham Wade